Catalogue of the Archives of the Dutch Central Government of Coastal Ceylon, 1640-1796

Description of the Subordinate Components

   The Governor in Council.

   Council minutes.

Ordinary minutes 1640-1796
The Dutch captured Galle from the Portuguese on 13th March 1640. On this date began the regular series of the council minutes which extends up to February 16th, 1796, the date of the capitulation to the English.
In 1644, when they captured Negombo for the second time, the Dutch set up a government there too. The necessity for this lay in the difficulty of communication with the other section of the Dutch forces in Galle. In Negombo, minutes of a military council were recorded in the same way as in Galle.
After the capture of Colombo in 1656, this town was made the main seat of the Central Government; the council minutes of the preceding period were brought here and entered in the list of the council minutes under a separate heading [1].The same method has been adopted in this catalogue. The minutes were taken down in draft. The fair copies, in which the documents discussed were incorporated in the text, were signed by all the members present. The originals of the documents so incorporated have been bound in a special series, which however does not start until 1742.